Login
Get your free website from Spanglefish

2016/2017 PROGRAMME

Saturday 3rd September 2016

29th Annual Horticultural Show

Hazel Grove Methodist Church, Wesley St, Hazel Grove SK7 4JQ. see Annual Horticultural Show for details.

 

Monday 19th September 2016

'Spring Flowering Bulbs'

Talk from Ribblesdale Nurseries.

Bulbs for sale from the Nursery

 

Monday 17th October 2016

'A Japanese Garden'

Steve Wright of the Japanese Garden Society gives a talk on the development of his Japanese garden in Hazel Grove.

Members' Plant Sale

 

Monday 21st November 2016

'Zantedescha'

From the hardy Zantedescha (Arum Lily) to the wonderfully colourful non hardy hybrids (Calla Lily) - Matthew Smith, Brighter Blooms.

Members' Plant Sale

 

Monday 12th December 2016 (Second Monday)

Christmas Party

Ticket only with in house catering, free raffle with many prizes and after dinner speaker - Peter Slack 'I'm not lost'.

 

Monday 16th January 2017

'Caroline Melliar-Smith'

This local lady tells us how the challenge of opening her garden has led her down many exciting paths.

Members' Plant Sale

 

Monday 20th February 2017

'Old English Florist Tulips'

Dr Trevor Myers gives an interesting talk about these special tulips.

Members' Plant Sale

 

Monday 20th March 2017

'Herbs for Health & Wellbeing'

Barbara Wilkinson explains how herbs can be used in various ways.

Plants & Products for sale

 

Monday 10 April 2017  (Second Monday)

'The Ray Davies Memorial Show'

A splash of spring colour, show schedule available nearer the event.  No entry fees/forms required.

Free entry to the show, refreshments and plants for sale.

 

Monday 15th May 2017

'Margery Fish, Author & Gardener'

Sue Clarke talks about Margery Fish who was involved in the introduction of Cottage Garden Plants in the 1950s and 60s and also wrote gardening books.

Plants for Sale

 

Monday 19th June 2017

'Late Summer Colour'

Mairi, from Tissington Nursery, brings ideas to extend the season and give glorious colour to your late Summer borders

Plants for Sale

 

Monday 17th July 2017

'Cuttings and Seeds'

Marguerite Hughes & Sue Gillon, from Meadow View Plants, demonstrate how to propagate new plants from cuttings and collecting seeds.

Plants for Sale

 

Saturday 12th August 2017

30th Annual Horticultural Show

Hazel Grove Methodist Church, Wesley St, Hazel Grove SK7 4JQ. See Annual Horticultural Show for details.

 

Monday 14th August 2017 (Second Monday)

'Annual General Meeting'

Short AGM; views, opinions & ideas wanted, followed by:

A pictorial review from our busy gardening club year.

Members' Plant Sale

 

 

 

 

 

 

 




Click for Map